27th Soft Magnetic Materials Conference Torino, September 8-11, 2025

Second Call for papers

We are pleased to announce that the 27th Soft Magnetic Materials Conference (SMM27) will be held in Torino, Italy.

Since its first event in 1973, the SMM conference has brought academic and industrial specialists together to share and promote the latest developments in soft magnetic materials processing, characterization, modeling, and applications.

Topics

Basic problems, magnetization processes.

Magnetostriction, anisotropy, magnetocaloric properties. Grain-oriented, non-oriented, and high-silicon alloys. Fe-Ni, Fe-Co, soft ferrites, powder cores.

Amorphous and nanocrystalline alloys.

Thin films, wires, particles, novel magnetic materials. Additive manufacturing of soft magnetic materials and components.

 $\label{eq:magnetic measurements} \textbf{Magnetic measurements and instrumentation.}$

Motors and transformers.

Sensors and actuators, magnetic non-destructive testing.

High-frequencies and power electronics applications. Bio-electromagnetics and medical applications.

Energy harvesting, renewables, environmental aspects.

Magnetic models and simulations; Al and machine learning.

Abstracts

A 1-page abstract should be submitted using the template and following the procedure that will be detailed on the website. After peer review, the authors will be notified of acceptance of their abstracts and invited to present their work at SMM27 by oral or poster presentations.



Special Issue of JMMM

Authors of papers presented at the conference may submit full papers for publication in a special issue of the Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials (Elsevier).

Important Dates (2025)

1 naga abetraet submission ananing

1-page abstract submission opening	January 9
1-page abstract submission deadline: extended to April 8	
Abstract acceptance notification	May 9
Registration opens	March 3
Early bird registration deadline	June 30
Venue and welcome party	Sept. 8
Conference dates	Sept. 9-11

Keynote speakers

Isabella Gallino, TU Berlin, Germany
Min-Fu Hsieh, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
(IEEE Magnetic Society Distinguished Lecturer 2025)
Sigrid Jacobs, ArcelorMittal, Belgium
Satoshi Okamoto, Tohoku University, Japan

Local organising committee

Carlo Appino (co-chair)
Paola Tiberto
Nicoleta Banu
Gabriele Barrera
Olivier de la Barrière
Aldo Canova
Federica Celegato
Clémentine Delauney
Enzo Ferrara
Michaela Küpferling

Carlo Ragusa (co-chair) Alessandro Magni Alessandra Manzin Andrea Mazza Salvatore Musumeci Massimo Pasquale Maurizio Repetto Uma Rajput Alessandro Sola Luigi Solimene

Editorial Board

Marco Coïsson (chair), INRIM, Torino, Italy Bence Kocsis, University of Szeged, Hungary Aphrodite Ktena, University of Athens, Greece Nicoleta Lupu, IFT Iaşi, Romania Zbigniew Śniadecki, IFMPAN Poznan, Poland Rastislav Varga, University of Košice, Slovakia

www.smm27.polito.it smm27@polito.it



